Call for Applications: Central Asia-Azerbaijan Fellowship Program Fall 2016

The George Washington University – Elliott School of International Affairs’ Central Asia Program (CAP) welcomes applications for its Central Asia-Azerbaijan Fellowship Program.


The Central Asia-Azerbaijan Fellowship Program (CAAFP) is intended for young professionals – scholars, government officials, policy experts, human rights and political activists – who want to enhance their research and analytical skills and seek to become public policy leaders in their respective countries. More generally, the fellowship program seeks to provide a platform for the exchange of ideas and to build lasting intellectual networks among Central Asian, Azerbaijani, and U.S scholarly and policy communities.


CAAFP fellows will spend five months in residence at GW, where they will participate in tailor-made programs and be introduced to U.S. policy and expert communities in both Washington, DC and New York. Fellows are required to attend seminars, workshops and training sessions, to write one policy brief on a predetermined theme, and to present their research at two public seminars. Throughout their fellowship, fellows will be mentored by program faculty affiliates.


Three Fellows will be selected for Fall 2016. Fellows will be awarded a monthly stipend of $3,000 (subject to taxes). Travel to and from Central Asia to Washington, DC, as well as visa and health insurance costs, will also be covered.


The theme for the Fall 2016 session is:


Economies and Societies in Central Asia and Azerbaijan

2016 marks the 25th anniversary of the post-Soviet countries gaining their independence. What progress have they made in terms of social and economic development? How are their economies shaped and what further reforms are needed to ensure sustainability and growth?  What are the main socioeconomic issues facing each of these countries?
Applicants are free to focus on one country or consider several countries in the region.


In their proposal for the policy paper, applicants need to:

1. Explain why this particular challenge(s) is among the most important for Central Asia or Azerbaijan.
2. Analyze what has been done to deal with these challenges.

3. Provide policy recommendations.



  • Applicant must be between 25 and 40 years of age.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of any of the following six countries: Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan AND currently reside in one of the six countries.
  • Background in government, policy, academia, human rights, or democracy.
  • Academic candidates must possess a Master’s degree and have experience in policy-oriented activities. For non-academics an equivalent degree of professional achievement is expected.
  • Applicant must be fluent in both written and spoken English.


Fellows will be selected by the Central Asia Fellowship Advisory Board. The decision of the jury is final and no appeal is possible. All candidates are informed of the outcome of their applications by e-mail.


How to apply

Applications for the Fall Session (August 15, 2016 – January 15, 2017) should be received no later than Friday, April 29, 2016. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered. Applicants will be notified by email by the end of May 2016.



The Fellowship is funded by the Open Society Foundations – NY

Similar Posts: