Members and Staff

Marlene Laruelle, laruelle@gwu.edu

marlene-laruelle.com

148_atkin-muriel-148x150Muriel Atkin, matkin@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

Henry-E.-Hale-150x150Henry E. Hale, hhale@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

Benjamin Hopkins, bhopkins@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

Sebastien-PeyrouseSebastien Peyrouse, speyrouse@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

Sean-RobertsSean Roberts, seanrr@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

peter-150x150Peter Rollberg, rgpeter@gwu.edu

 

 

Sergey Abashin, s-abashin@mail.ru

LauraAdams2009-150x150Laura Adams, lauraleeadams@icloud.com

jos-boonstraJos Boonstra, jboonstra@fride.org

Remi Castets drRemi Castets, remi.castets@gmail.com

Alexander Cooley

Alexander Cooley, acooley@barnard.edu

Michael-Denison-150x122Michael Denison, michael.denison@control-risks.com

Alexander Diener

Alexander Diener, diener@ku.edu

Emilbek Dzhuraev

Emilbek Dzhuraev, emildzhu@umd.edu

Shairbek-JuraevShairbek Juraev, shairbek@gmail.com

Artemy-M.-KalinovskyArtemy M. Kalinovsky, a.m.kalinovsky@uva.nl

Nargis Kassenova, nargis@kimep.kz

Andrei Kazantsev

Andrei Kazantsev, andrka@mail.ru

Simbal-KhanSimbal Khan, khsimbal@gmail.com

Aitolkyn Kourmanova

Aitolkyn Kourmanova, akourmanova@gmail.com

sobirSobir Kurbanov, ksobir@yahoo.com

Sanat Kushkumbayev

Sanat Kushkumbayev, kushkumbayev@yahoo.com

Alisher-LatypovAlisher Latypov, alisher_latypov@fulbrightmail.org

Marat Laumulin

Marat Laumulin, muratlau@mail.ru

Erica-MaratErica Marat, erica.marat@gmail.com

 

Eric McGlinchey

Eric McGlinchey, emcglinc@gmu.edu

Neil Melvin

Neil Melvin, melvin@sipri.org

Jargalsaikhan Mendee

Jargalsaikhan Mendee, menduulj@yahoo.com

DSCN5657-2-150x150David W. Montgomery, montgomery@cedarnetwork.org

Michael RoulandMichael Rouland, roulandm@gmail.com

Konstantin Syroezhkin

Konstantin Syroezhkin, syrkonst@mail.ru

Cory Welt

Garrett Wolf,  GarrettC.Wolf@gmail.com

Guli-Yuldasheva-e1416117682562-150x150Guli Yuldasheva, guli.yuldasheva@fulbrightmail.org

Jennet Akmyradova – Program Coordinator for the Central Asia Program. Jennet has a diverse background in the field of education ranging from state and private institutions in Turkmenistan to non-profit organizations in Washington D.C., primarily in project management, curriculum development, research, teaching, and exchange programs. She received her M.S. in Educational Leadership with a focus in International Education from Syracuse University and B.A. in Philology, Pedagogy, and Translation from the Turkmen National Institute of World Languages. Being originally from the region, Jennet is passionate about contributing to the development of Central Asia through improving regional awareness, research and communication.

Aitolkyn Kourmanova

Aitolkyn Kourmanova – Editor-in Chief of Central Asian Analytical Network (CAAN), Editor of Voices on Central Asia. She is an expert on economic policy in Central Asia, and authored several studies on regional economic cooperation, trade, commodity and financial markets. She also has an extensive media management experience. She has a bachelor’s degree in international relations from Al-Farabi Kazakh National University and Executive MBA from HEC Paris. At Central Asia Program, she manages online content, media, and communications.

Marya Rozanova-Smith, Ph.D. – Research Assistant at the Central Asia Program. She is specializing in the fields of (1) migration policy and migrant integration, and (2) Russian policy, and the Arctic region. Dr. Rozanova-Smith holds a Ph.D. in Philosophy, St. Petersburg State University, a Master of Law degree (LL.M.), North-West Academy of Public Administration (Russia), and a Philosophy degree (M.A.), St. Petersburg State University. She authored and co-authored over 40 research publications available at: https://gwu.academia.edu/MaryaRozanova

Aurélie Biard, Ph.D. – Postdoctoral Fellow at the Central Asia Program. Aurélie studies the transformation of the state and the reconfiguration of political legitimacies with the emergence of alternative Islamic ethical systems that reject globalization because of its perceived roots in the West (the United States and Europe). The analysis focuses on the Muslim regions of the post-Soviet realm (Central Asia and Russia). Aurélie is in charge, as part of the CERIA (Central Eurasia-Religion in International Affairs Initiative at George Washington, funded by the Henry Luce Foundation) of the research axis “‘Bourgeois’ Islam, Prosperity Theology and Ethics in Muslim Eurasia.” Aurélie teaches a class on “Islam and Ethnicity in Central Asia” at the Elliott School of International Affairs. Aurélie holds a Ph.D. from Sciences-Po Paris, and her work can be found at https://gwu.academia.edu/AurélieBiard